Our Goals

  • Revitalize the Mission Hill commercial area
  • Increase merchant participation in the Main Street organization and in the life of the Mission Hill community
  • Provide Mission Hill merchants with technical assistance and with financial and design assistance for storefront renovations
  • Reduce negative health impacts – noise, clutter, trash, smells - of how business is done
  • Continuously improve the appearance, healthfulness, safety, and functionality of the Mission Hill business districts and the Mission Hill host community
  • Work with schools, students, employee groups, neighborhood organizations, and the local District Courts on community services projects throughout the area.


Our Accomplishments

  • Completed more than 50 façade renovations
  • Successful Tuesday and Thursday Farmers Market, with subsidies for residents to buy fresh produce grown locally in Massachusetts.
  • Published a monthly column in the Mission Hill Gazette
  • Developed strong relationships with local institutions, including our corporate buddy, Brigham and Women’s Hospital
  • Holiday business district enhancements – banners, flags, recognitions, music and cultural groups


Who Benefits from Main Street?

  • Residents
    from improved services and increased convenience
    from the creation of a more attractive shopping district
    by participating in the revitalization of their neighborhood
    taking a role in identifying and addressing areas for improvement from referrals to expert technical assistance
  • Businesses
    from referrals to expert technical assistance
    from design and financial assistance

Mission Hill Main Streets
1534 Tremont Street
Roxbury, MA 02120

2015 Board of Directors

Dermot Doyne, President
Michel Soltani, Vice President
Eric Alden, Treasurer
Toni Komst, Clerk
Maynard Clark, Webmaster

Executive Director
Richard J. Rouse
Resident Members
Gar Chiang
Maynard Clark, Webmaster
Nick Guertin
Toni Komst, Clerk
John Todd
Business Owner Members
Eric Alden, Treasurer
Dermot Doyne, President
Otto Hernandez
Michel Soltani, Vice President
Organization / Institution Members
Michael Fitzgerald
John McGonagle